I Am Happy Being Unsaved. Leave Me Alone

Dr. Dad Bod
2 min readJun 27, 2022

--

I don’t want to be saved by religion.

No offense to those who live peaceful lives with religion, you are entitled to your beliefs, but please keep them away from me.

I tried to be a good Catholic when I was little, but I couldn’t force myself to accept that which didn’t make sense to me.

I have read the Bible front to back, and it doesn’t make any more or any less sense than does sacrificing bulls to Zeus.

When you flat out don’t believe something, there is no way to measure how much you don’t believe it against something else you don’t believe.

I am sure that religious people saw Roe v Wade as secular views dictating how they live, but that would only have been true in the event of someone they knew needing or wanting an abortion.

The reversal of Roe v Wade will force the views of the religious on to the non-religious. Whereas before, a religious person was perfectly free not to get an abortion, certain states will now prohibit any female from being able to have one , in some cases no matter what the circumstance, and no matter what their belief or lack of belief.

Of course, this situation will have zero impact on affluent citizens of the states that prohibit abortion- they will fly to a state that allows them if they so choose. The less affluent will be handcuffed to the will of those whose religious views predicate that they must deprive the procedure to others in the name of a more Godly nation.

If that sounds just, I know it is because some see it as their duty to save others.

I just want to reiterate that I don’t want to be saved.

Not by something like that.

--

--

Dr. Dad Bod

I am a husband, father, teacher, and soccer coach, and aspiring writer residing in Northern Virginia. More than anything, I love having fun and pushing myself!